top of page
Nature

BLULIVING

Live Your Beauty

The idea of Bluliving is you're young, radiant, beautiful, and living your best free life now.  As a woman, you are taking stock of what you value, what inspires you, and making steps towards your dream today.  As you progress, you are creating a balance between work and home, and thinking of how to make more time for you.

Post: Welcome

Life in Thai Series Part I By Bluj

Updated: Aug 1, 2022

Sà-wàt-dii (Hello) coupled with a beautiful Thai smile welcomes anyone here . . . And if you're beginning the day, you can greet sà-wàt-dii dtɔɔn-cháo (Good Morning) and yin-dii tîi dâi rûu-jàk (It's nice to meet you) will come in handy as you make your way around Chiangmai and the warm people.

Summer 2022 will forever go down in my book as I am home. There's something to be said about living a simpler life replete with local food and local people, friends you've known your entire life. At least this is how I felt as a glob-trekker here in Chiangmai, Thailand. The weather from July 1st through July 9th, 2022 was hot and humid, with a temperature of about 35 degrees celsius, or 95 degrees Fahrenheit. There were also some cloudy days, but we really made the most of things. I tell you: I was in for a ride of a lifetime when we landed here. Everywhere we turned there was a red tuk-tuk truck and or local drivers offering to take us to Changklan Road, central to the heart of Mueang district in Chiangmai. The sounds of this city awakened my spirit and I felt alive.

As we paced our steps walking through the uneven, cracked, small pavement sidewalks, one couldn't help but be enamored by a sense of community. I was careful with each step I took, and all of a sudden, considered how we take for granted the paved/even roads in New York City. In addition, as I looked on, I felt intrigued, yet mesmerized all the same time curious of all the small food trucks, stands offering fresh cut watermelon, baby pineapple, salted eggs, smoothies and skewers of delights. And a few more steps took me to the neighborhood 7-Eleven, where you can really find anything from toothpaste to SIM cards to prepared foods for a quick work lunch break. There were even small establishments with awnings Thai Massage littered throughout the streets every couple of paces . . . competition everywhere.


I had braved a 3-day layover in Chicago, Tokyo and Bangkok before arriving here in Chiangmai, and was quite exhausted. And even though my eyes were closing, I kept them open for the beauty that surrounded me. I watched as a small family with a toddler rode the motorcycle together to go home, as some more hard-working Thai people share in some snacks and small-talk while waiting to drive someone somewhere. They hopped on and off their mopeds and motorcycles with ease . . . as if they were on an everyday adventure! Here, you have to get used to crossing the street and really looking both ways because the cars drive on the opposite side of the road here. And you can easily be taken by all of the beauty, people, sights, foods and newness of it all.

In the night the city lights and narrow streets lead me to some stalls selling Thai silk, beautiful fuchsia, blue and purple sarongs for the lady, hand-carved dark wooden elephants, all kinds of pipes for smoking, clothing for men, women and families, vendors of all kinds of goods. What is your poison? And as I made my way through the lights and gentle sway of colorful Thai lanterns, I slipped onto a side street, leading me yet onto another court-square Night Bazaar. There I surveyed around me, found hand-made jewelry (earrings made of intricate beads and gentle ebony or maroon feathers), homemade packaged dried longan fruit, dried plums, kiwis and strawberries, taro chips and red beet chips freshly made here, small wallets and hand-woven handbags.




Among the goods sold, there stood a food court, where one could sample Chiangmai's famous Khao Soi, Egg Noodle Curry, Sao Oua, grilled spicy herb sausage, Kaeb Moo, crispy pork rinds, grilled whole fish, squid and prawns. My first meal was a fire-grilled roasted Tilapia and a Singha (Thai beer) to wash down our jet lag. There's nothin' like home-made fish stuffed with fresh herbs, Thai basil, spices, lemongrass, ginger and delicious Khao Soi egg noodle soup to accompany our meal.



Not long after landing here, you learn quickly how to say key phrases in order to get around kɔ̀ɔp-kun meaning Thank You and kɔ̌ɔ-tôot for Excuse Me, Chai/Mai Chai for Yes/No, not to mention laa-gɔ̀ɔn for Goodbye. Along with learning some key phrases, we made it a point to learn numbers and anywhere about 5-10 words a day. I wanted to become apart of the Thai culture, to immerse myself in their language and life for the time I spent here. I was inspired by all of it: the beauty, the food, the bright lights and colors, this Thai lifestyle. And I did just that . . .


Help support what I do by donating

https://ko-fi.com/bluliving



24 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Summer Swing Part I

How ready are you for the summer now that August is here?!!! I don't know about you, but I am so ready for the salt air, sandy toes, summer sea breeze, weekend getaways, and endless beautiful days by

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page